Choose your language:

I EU-LAC Awards

The EU-LAC Awards are organised by the EU-LAC Foundation together with other partners, with the aim of promoting visibility, mutual knowledge of models of good practices and innovation among regions. It is with this purpose, that the EU-LAC Foundation invites societies of both regions to nominate candidates for the annual awards, with four different categories, to acknowledge different types of projects made in any of the Member States of the European Union or CELAC.

Find out how to apply to the II EU-LAC Awards.



Winners of the First EU-LAC Awards

Public Management: project Sistema FALFRA

Citizens' Initiative: TECHO

Journalism and Entrepreneurial Innovation: these categories have been voided due to lack of applications that have totally satisfied the selection criteria.

Winners I EU-LAC Awards with High Representative Mogherini & Minister Patiño_EC Audiovisual Services 


Review and Selection

An independent Jury, comprising four personalities from both regions, one representative of the patrons, and the President of the EU-LAC Foundation, reviewed all the applications submitted.



To assume the delicate task of evaluating and deciding the winner among the nominations received is the Jury, which consists of four members: Julio María Sanguinetti, former President of Uruguay; Klaus Hänsch, former President of the European Parliament; José Antonio García Belaunde, former Peruvian Foreign Minister, and Michael Reid, Americas Editor of The Economist.



The First EU-LAC Awards were handed by the European Union High Represenative and Vice-President of the European Commission, Ms Mogherini, and Ecuador's Foreign Minister, Mr Patiño, on 9 June 2015 in the margins of the EU-CELAC Foreign Ministers Meeting held in the framework of the 2015 EU-CELAC Summit.