Choose your language:

About Us

Created in May 2010 by the VI Summit of Heads of State and Government, the European Union-Latin America and the Caribbean Foundation (EU-LAC Foundation) began its activities in November 2011.

The headquarters of the EU-LAC Foundation is located in the city of Hamburg, Germany. The Foundation has 62 members: the 33 States of Latin America and the Caribbean, the 28 members of the European Union, as well as the European Union.

The objective of the Foundation is to transform the strategic partnership between the European Union, Latin America and the Caribbean, which was undertaken in 1999, into an invigorated and visible reality that has the active participation of the respective societies.


To link the intergovernmental process with business, academic, social and, broadly and generally, civil society sectors of both regions.

Promote the development of a joint and dynamic global vision and a shared strategy in both regions.

To stimulate bi-regional strategic partnership by encouraging the elaboration and implementation of policies and agendas.

Disseminate knowledge in order to improve the mutual understanding and visibility of both regions, as well as the bi-regional association.


We hope that the economic and socio-cultural association between the countries of the European Union, Latin America and the Caribbean will achieve a sustained dynamism, supported by the achievement of reciprocal benefits. Achieving these benefits requires that societies in both regions recognize that not only the need to meet their interests unites them but also a set of common values. These include, among others:

Democracy and the rule of law

Respect for dignity and human rights


Inclusive and cohesive societies

This sustained dynamism will fully exploit the potential of the relationship both bi-regionally and globally, making the strategic partnership a reality in which the dialogue between the two regions and their members is broad, regular and fluid.